Magical Spain Customer Reviews

Even with over 20 years of experience providing luxury private tours of Spain and Portugal, it is still a great thrill to see clients happily taking the time to leave their reviews for our team, and report on what a wonderful time they shared with their private guide in Spain and/or Portugal.

We don’t share our customer reviews simply to brag, we believe that customer word of mouth provides the best insight into how we approach creating custom tours for our clients and the friendly, informative, and engaging manner of our tour guides.

If you would like to know what makes our tours a cut above the rest, don’t just take our word for it, see what our guests have had to say for themselves. If you would like to see video reviews our clients have sent us then you can do so at our video review page.

Best of Spain & Portugal

“I urge everyone who values unforgettable vacations to contact Magical Spain and talk to Dan or Rachel.

Beyond the personalized planning and fine 24-7 tour support, we loved the quality and care of the licensed guides, the delicious tapas, the exotic ambiance of Seville and Granada, Madrid’s majesty and art, medieval Toledo, and meeting the olive oil estate owners, artist, chef & winemaker.”

R. Mathews, wife & friends (Northern Virginia)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Peppermint Arches

“Dear Dan & Rachel, we still are loving the vibes despite the extra from the amazing private trip with Barcelona and Madrid. Overall both cities were so different but fantastic. We loved the boat ride a whole bunch. The Mediterranean is so different from the Atlantic. The highlight for me was going to the restaurant you picked for us in Cadaqués. Wow, what a treat! Mercedes is an incredible guide. As I reviewed some Rick Steves videos, I noticed that your guides Jesús, and Mercedes featured in them! I’m so glad we had your company to get us to the airport or we’d be standing in Plaza Catalunya waiting to board a bus to the airport after wheeling all our luggage there from the hotel. We’re feeling bad for others but thankful for your excellent planning and the 24/7 support by Inma and Mercedes! Thanks again and we hope to return to do Andalucia and or Portugal soon!”

Anne & Sean K, (NYC)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Granada-Arriaga-660x424-1

“Our private Spain guided trip was superb and stress-free, thanks for the customization.. we loved the Seville and Granada walking tours, but also the historic hilltowns, medieval castles, wine tasting with the winemaker,  tapas on the plazas, flamenco guitar…great insight and memories!”

R. Fergerson (NYC)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

images

“Spain was truly made magical and exciting for us with insight in placing the wonderful sights in their historical and cultural context. The private tour of Andalucia were quite memorable ……looking forward to Portugal or maybe Northern Spain’s wine treasures!”

Paul E. Galvez (NYC)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

secret-algarve

“A quick note from London to say ‘thank you’ for a unforgettable 7 day guided trip – I think we experienced a lot more than expected as a result of your preparations & great guide work”

Helen Powell (London)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Sue S. family - Sierra Aracena - Castaño de Robledo

“Travelling all the way to Spain and not experiencing a Magical Spain tour is like buying a Mercedes with plastic seats!”

Tony & Mary (Miami, FL)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

i-3pGd3vR-X3-1024x683-1

“Our church group tour is home and the tour was GREAT and Dan is just the Best! We all enjoyed it so much…will be getting my pictures back this week and will be glad to email a group shot.”

Patty & Tony (US)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Screen Shot 2021-10-27 at 12.57.18

“Our university groups thought The Castles and Trails hiking trip was awesome!”

Diana Brenner (University of Colorado)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Magical Spain

“Thanks a million, Magical Spain, your Easy Walking Adventure was sensational, from hotels to food, to cities, to guide services… All was well thought out the price was reasonable, the tour was great.”

Heidi & Bill Robertson (Philadelphia, PA)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

private-luxury-Portugal-tours- pastry culture

“Thanks to the meticulous preparation, contacts, and knowledge of Magical Spain, our trip was sculpted to fit our most personal interests….it was both fun and educational for our two children. Dan and Rachel know more people than a Washington fundraiser and was fantastic…, truly our private Spain tour was a vacation our family will cherish forever.”

Mark Rosenthal (US)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

119060008_983340395479307_5746931763790663379_n

“I hire lawyers, doctors, tax experts …. well this year I hired the Magical Spain expert team for a custom private guided Best of Spain trip with my granddaughter…. excellent luxury hotels, perfect planning, comfortable transport, no stress and memorable experiences of Spain’s history, cuisine, wine & culture.”

Cheryl Powers (San Francisco, CA)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

130613131946-01-lonely-planet-horizontal-large-gallery

“The escorted Andalucia trip was full of great exploration, food, wine & educational fun!”

Joe & Hana Hellman (NYC)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Abadia-Retuerta-Magical-spain-private wine tour travel

“A+……we wanted to learn more about Spain than we would have on our own, and that’s exactly what we got…..plus culturally relevant information which made later parts of the trip better on our own. Glad we saw Magical Spain in the Rick Steves guide book”.

Jennifer Duffy (Seattle, WA)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Screen Shot 2021-10-14 at 19.06.02

“Our university group got great service and excellent walking tours in Seville from Magical Spain and thanks for the paella cooking demo!”

Sarah Smith (Purdue University)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

happy-family-copy

“Our Spain Trip was first-class touring at affordable prices… individualized service, charming hotels & guides plus FUN… cooking demos, wine tasting & just enough guided tours to work up an appetite!… When will you do Ireland?”

H J James (San Francisco, CA)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Portugal private luxury tour

“We come from Rick Steves’ country and must say his recommendation of Magical Spain was excellent and they took us as promised, beyond the guide book. Thanks again!”

Renae Batlle (Seattle, WA)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Happy - MagicalSpain

“First, we talked to Dan by phone for 45 minutes and it’s evident that he cares about personalizing our trip to give us what we want and skip the things we were meh about. We were concerned about the pandemic but found Magical Spain to be very well prepared. Even out and about 99% of Spaniards were very responsible and kind. (Maybe more so than in the U.S. where going shopping at the mall can be stressful). So after talking to Dan, we worked with Rachel to select the experiences we wanted for our private Spain tour. We had only 7 days free so she suggested a short version of their favorite Spain itineraries with Madrid, Barcelona & Seville.  We did this in September 2021. Dan and Rachel answered every planning question like champs and cared about our unique needs. Our trip itself was seamless and enhanced by the tailor-made itinerary. This included prompt and courteous smiling services of the top-notch local guides with clear English and caring drivers. We also loved the restaurants suggested were based on location, quality, and social distancing between tables and/or al fresco dining.

This is made possible as Dan, Rachel and Magical Spain team is based in Spain so know the latest things to do. Unlike a few Spanish agencies, the team got us as Americans without cultural confusion. And at the same time unlike tour & travel agencies in the USA who sell 20+ countries, they live in Spain and travel around Portugal frequently. They are foodies and love the culture and history of Iberia. If you want to just pack your bags and show up to enjoy your vacation without worry or stress but still enjoying amazing, cultural experiences (not just sitting on a beach) then we suggest you talk to Dan about the possibilities based on your interest.”

John & Stephanie M. (Dallas, TX)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

private-luxury-Portugal-tours- pastry culture

“As promised our private guided Spain tour was fun and fascinating!”

Michelle DiGioia (Denver, CO)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

118984351_983340538812626_8840728185442553436_n

“We couldn’t be happier – it was a perfect Destination Wedding, one that we will always remember. You and your staff were great to work with, trustworthy, knowledgeable about the area, responsive, and sensitive to our needs and desires”.

Kolby & Patty (Boston, MA)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Screen Shot 2021-08-25 at 11.40.38

“Thanks for the great work during our Spanish Food and Wine Adventure…. you guys really know your stuff and are great guides & hosts! We’ll be back for northern Spain in the future!”

The Marshall Clan (Dallas, TX)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Testimonials_4

“Outstanding, seamless planning with a very personalized itinerary executed perfectly…..

In Spain, we felt like VIPs as we met the winemakers in La Rioja and Ribera del Duero, the chefs, the village mayor  and flamenco dancer in Sevilla! The unique experiences and memories beat that of 4 or 5 cruises.  We will be back to do Andalucia or Portugal in a few years”

Scott & Kisha McCann (NYC)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Screen-Shot-2021-10-26-at-20.38.16

“Thanks again for the enthusiasm, knowledge, and sensitivity to adapt to our and our grandson Casey’s tour interest during the custom private Andalucia tour…. hope to be back for Northern Spain!”

Jane Parker (Califonia, US)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

image_processing20200229-4-25d69p

“Jill & Daniel and I are back in Miami with great memories of our memorable Spain trip. Many, many thanks for making our vacation so much more rewarding & enjoyable…”

Bob Maland (Miami, FL)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

DEX_4826

“Greatly enjoyed the expertly guide gourmet Spain food & wine tour and help buying those fantastic Spanish red wines from the Priorat and Somantano regions not just Rioja!”

Allen & Kathy (Tucson, Arizona)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

1579088584-low-carb-prawn-pasta-meal-prep-recipe-in-a-bowl

“We have done many small group tours in Europe and yours were among the best… money well-spent and we all got way more España with Magical Spain”

Wayne King (Palm Springs, CA)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

70650541_2769349586431783_6073896244097318912_n

“The Sehpardic Jewish History Trip were very informative and well planned… we thoroughly enjoyed all and thanks for helping us with post-tour hotel reservations!”

Susan & Gabe (NYC)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Chef-Pablo-Vicari

“7 day Cultural Adventure Trip was great… Small group of 10, individualized service, charming hotels & guides plus … cooking demos, wine tasting & just enough walking to work up an appetite! Next up Ireland!”

Thomas Hopkins (Denver, CO)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

private tours to spain -magical spain

“After 3 very good but expensive trips with Backroads… your Amazing Andalucia Trip with top-notch guiding & service… excellent routes & food… and excellent VALUE… Viva Magical Spain!”

John & Susan Howard (Los Angeles)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

6.17

“Thanks so much for helping make our Spain wedding event and tours so great especially the tapas & wine night out and city walking tours for our families and friends.”

Ted & Ana (Miami, FL)

⭑⭑⭑⭑⭑

Meet the Founder of Magical Spain

Hola! I’m Dan O’Beirne C.E.O of Magical Spain, and an American family man who settled here over 20 years ago.

At the heart of Magical Spain lies my two passions in life, travel, and family. After working in the Health and Wellness sector back home in the U.S, my desire to travel led me to Spain where I met my beautiful wife-to-be, and where we now live with our young son. As our relationship blossomed, so did my love for the country, cultures, and people here. It was only natural then that Nuria and I should work together to create Magical Spain as a platform to share this passion and insight into Spain with our American clients.

Step 1

Fill out the form with the destinations, wish-list, & personal preferences for your perfect trip. If you would like your tour planner to offer some inspiration, then we are happy to provide a suggested itinerary which we can then refine with you until you are 100% delighted with it.

Step 2

Soon after receiving your request, your personal tour planner will be in touch to begin planning your custom tour. You will then receive a tailor-made tour itinerary which can be revised an unlimited number of times to ensure total satisfaction and the perfect vacation.

Step 3

Your officially licensed private guide will meet you at the pre-arranged starting point of your tour. You can count on us for 24/7 in-country support and everything else necessary for a wonderful vacation and seamless tour experience. Welcome to Iberia!

Request Your Complimentary Custom Itinerary With Our Spain Experts

Tour Request

Chat With The Experts!

Booking Guarantee

If Covid disrupts your travel plans you can change your booking for free!

Custom Itineraries

Built personally for you by experts!

Private Guides

Explore Spain with your own personal guides & drivers

Spain & Portugal Tour Itineraries You Might Like